Articles - History - Latin American - Guides at Middlebury College

LibrarySearch

Use LibrarySearch to find resources from all disciplines.

REFINE YOUR SEARCH

Don't forget to use the date limit if you want to narrow results to the most recent content (for secondary sources) or to a specific date range for primary sources contemporary to your topic.

History & Region-Specific Databases

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
Fuente Académica Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 570 scholarly journals from Latin American, Spain, and Portugal. Mostly in Spanish and Portuguese but some are in English.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean plus academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.

Latin America & Iberia Database (ProQuest)
Full-text academic journals published in Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Publication dates vary considerably. Some coverage back to the 1990's. Includes English, Spanish, and Portuguese articles.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, book reviews, and documents in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Focuses on Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Hispanics in the U.S. Go shortcut = go/hapi/.

HLAS-Handbook of Latin American Studies
Indexes journals, books, documents, and reports on Latin America with good coverage of Latin American publications from 1935 to current. Search in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. Go shortcut = go/hlas
Clase and Periodica
Index of Latin American Journals in the sciences and humanities searchable via Bibliografia Latinoamericana (Biblat). Includes Spanish, Portuguese, French and English language journals. 1975 - present.
Latin American Open Archives Portal
"Provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Includes research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies publications.

Translations of the Foreign Press

Why Use Translations?

In English
Local (non-US) Perspective

Castro Speech Database: Speeches, Interviews, Articles 1959-1996
'Full text of English translations of speeches, interviews, and press conferences by Fidel Castro, based upon the records of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)...'
FBIS Daily Report (on microfiche)
Translations of radio and TV broadcasts, newspaper and magazine articles, wire services and speeches. Some reports available FULL-TEXT via Hathitrust. Foreign radio broadcasts listed separately. The library has reports on microfiche for Latin America ('90+), Sub-Sahara Africa ('91+), Asia & Pacific/East Asia ('85+), USSR & East Europe/Central Eurasia ('78-'96), China ('79+), Eastern Europe ('87+). Use theIndex to the FBIS Daily Reports - Govt Docs Reference DJ - DS. Reports issued on microfiche, located in Gov Docs microfiche cabinets under PREX 7.10. For more detail, see the FBIS handout. See also JPRS reports and JPRS handout.
World Press Review
Provides articles reprinted and/or translated from the foreign press, as well as originally written material. Latest issues online (now a website). Older issues in Bound Periodicals AP2 .A83 2001 - 2004 and Microfiche 1980-2000.

Can't Find It at Midd?

If Middlebury does not have the item, request it via Interlibrary Loan (go/ill)

Tip: Worldcat, LibrarySearch, and many library databases include a link to Interlibrary Loan from each item we don't have. Look for the a Request button or links with the words Interlibrary Loan, Illiad, or similar.

or Link to ILLiad

Using these embedded links will put the information right into the form for you! If you don't see this link, you can manually enter the information at go/illiad (first time users will be prompted to set up their profile).

Questions? See ILL FAQ or Ask a Librarian

History - Latin American

Subject Specialist

LibrarySearch

History & Region-Specific Databases

Other Article Databases

Translations of the Foreign Press

Can't Find It at Midd?