The DPLA contains over 2.5 million records for photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. View full-text available only for items no longer in copyright. Also check Internet Archive and/or Digital Public Library of America (Similar coverage. Allows downloading of full documents no longer in copyright).
This website includes not only a way to search for websites that are no longer visible, but also a number of digital texts and other materials. Search by title or author, and choose a genre from the menu tab on the right.
Broadsides (historically, large posters and ads) printed between 1760 and 1900 with contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports.
"We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:" Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project
The Civil War in Words and Deeds
The Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979
Witchcraft in Europe and America
Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
This archival research collection documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the lives of Americans from 1800 to 1920 including families and home life, religion, race, education, employment, politics, marriage, sexuality, health, childhood, fashion, travel, and entertainment.
Cornell University's open archive of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, 1850-1950. Subjects covered include home management, food and nutrition, clothing and textiles, child care and family studies, and applied arts and design.
Find materials related to the women’s rights movement in America from the campaign for women’s suffrage to the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment and beyond, including the National Woman’s Party Papers (1913-1971), League of Women Voters collection (1918-1974), and documents about the Women’s Action Alliance (1971-1996).
A database containing over 500,000 pages of declassified documents gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The DNSA archive contains a range of policy documents including presidential memos, meeting notes, briefing papers, White House communications, email, letters, and other secret material detailing U.S.foreign and military policy since 1945. Topics include the Koreas, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cuba, nuclear proliferation, among many others. See also smaller open access version from George Washington University.
Oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
A web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
Original material on the legacy of slavery, social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today from the British Library, Duke University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL, and more.
Original manuscripts, maps, ephemera, and printed sources from the Newberry Library, Chicago. The documents detail frontier life, Native Americans, the growth of urban centers, the environmental impact of westward expansion, and life in the borderlands.
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material. Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).