Skip to main content

Midd Libraries Quick Guide

Find, evaluate, and use information available at the library.

Not Sure Where to Start?

To search most of our online databases, first try LibrarySearch. You can also begin your search in one of the larger, general databases below. 

Newspapers

Find Subject-Specific Databases

When you are ready to narrow your search to a subject-specific database, see your subject's Research Guide for recommendations at go/guides.

Research Guides

What Are Scholarly Sources?

What's a Database?

Looking for scholarly articles online? A library database can help!

A library database is an online, searchable collection of publications that can include journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, images, and reference sources. Databases can include citations of the publications they index, the entire full-text publication, or both.

Some databases are general enough that you can find material from any discipline. Other databases are subject specific. Most databases you find through Middlebury Libraries are scholarly and have publications that are not available for free elsewhere online.

Search many Middlebury databases at the same time with LibrarySearch. Consult a Research Guide for subject-specific databases.

Can't Find it at Midd?

Interlibrary Loan is the answer!

If Middlebury does not have access to an article, request through Interlibrary LoanIn most cases you will receive a PDF version of the article that you can access online.

The easiest way to request articles through ILL is to search in LibrarySearch.  Records for items not owned by the library will have a link below them to "request this item through interlibrary loan."