Guides: Classics: Articles

Leanne Suggests

Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Critical and analytical bibliography of articles on Greek and Latin works.
JSTOR All Collections This link opens in a new window
Middlebury's access includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections (Global Plants, 19th-century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom in southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa). Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus).
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off campus). To access Project Muse for alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/musealum

LibrarySearch
Middlebury Library's search engine. It searches nearly everything we own or have access to, including books, articles, films, reference materials, primary sources and more. (go/LibrarySearch/)

More Databases: Humanities and Social Sciences

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
American Anthropological Association (AAA) database with 100 years of online anthropological materials, including: current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications,including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.
Art Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes art journals, magazines, bulletins and film reviews from 1984-current. Preceding years covered by Art Index Retrospective.
- 1984-current -- online
- 1929-1984 - Art Index Retrospective - online
- 1929-1995 - in print - N2 .A78
Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to art criticism, 1929-1984. Indexes art journals, magazines, bulletins and film reviews from 1929-=1984. Subsequent years covered by Art Index.
- 1984-current - Art Index -- online.
- 1929-1984 - Art Index Retrospective - online
- 1929-1995 - in print - N2 .A78
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles and more on the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
1940 - present. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions toanthologies, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly.

Can't Find it at Middlebury?

For articles, Interlibrary Loan is the answer!

PDF usually accessible within a few days.

What's a Database?

Looking for scholarly articles online? A library database can help!

A library database is an online, searchable collection of publications that can include journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, images, and reference sources. Databases can include citations of the publications they index, the entire full-text publication, or both.

Some databases are general enough that you can find material from any discipline. Other databases are subject specific. Most databases you find through Middlebury Libraries are scholarly and have publications that are not available for free elsewhere online.

Search many Middlebury databases at the same time with LibrarySearch. Consult a Research Guide for subject-specific databases.