Comprehensive encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world...in the Arab heartland as well as South and Southeast Asia, Europe, and the Americas.
Why Use Reference Works?
Reference works include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, directories, and other succinct background or factual materials to aid in research.
They may give you a succinct overview of a topic.
They may help you identify a topic to explore in depth.
They may provide quick, reliable facts.
They may include bibliographies that will lead you to detailed studies.
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) includes in-depth articles and ebooks. Middlebury has access to the following handbook collections: Philosophy, Religion, Economics and Finance, Music, Literature, History, and Political Science.
New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002.. 4 vols.
"Consists of 450 alphabetically arranged entries covering countries, regions, geographic features, cultural groups, personalities, and general subjects such as body adornment and clothing, oral tradition, and writing systems. Includes timelines, definitions and quick-reference fact boxes."
Online access to the history and culture of Islam. Full-text access to Oxford reference and scholarly works, including The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, two interpretations of the Qur'an, a Concordance of the Qur'an, What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World.
The Brill Encyclopaedia of Islam Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. See Also Brill Encyclopedia of the Qur'an.
Also in print: Davis Family Library Ref DS37 .E523 (12 volumes).
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to 'Americana' and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures. Print versions
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Davis Family Library Ref CT773 .D4 2004.
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc. Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.