Guides: Environmental Studies: Encyclopedias & More

Why Use Reference Works?

Reference works include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, directories, and other succinct background or factual materials to aid in research.

Environmental Literature: an Encyclopedia of Works, Authors, and Themes
Call Number: Armstrong (Science Library) GE35 .E58 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Environment: Why Read the Classics by Sofia Vaz (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2012
Six essays on six of the most emblematic books ever written on the environment.
1. Walden; 2. A Sand County Almanac; 3. Rachel Carson's Silent Spring; 4. The Limits to Growth revisited; 5. Small is still beautiful; 6. An essay on Our Common Future
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Governance and Politics
Call Number: Davis Family Library HD75.6 .E58 2017
Publication Date: 2015
This comprehensive reference work includes concepts and definitions; theories and methods; actors; institutions; issue-areas; cross-cutting questions; and overlaps with non-environmental fields.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work.

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
5 vol., 2007. 1,200 entries on topics related to the overlap between people and nature. Biographies, policy discussions, and essays about problems, processes, and theoretical concepts.
MIDCAT LIST - Environmental Encyclopedias
For additional encyclopedias, try this ADVANCED KEYWORD search of MIDCAT for (environment* OR ecology) and Encyclopedias (restricted to subjects) or this broader keyword search.
MIDCAT List - Environmental Dictionaries
For additional dictionaries, try this ADVANCED KEYWORD search of MIDCAT for Environment* and Dictionaries (restricted to subjects)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health by Gale Editor (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health contains information on the actual catastrophic events - how, where, when, why each of these environmental conditions occurred - what impact the effect has and the kinds of health issues that arise from the event, how to identify the health issues, and how to treat the conditions through test, treatment, therapy, and public health response. It describes the immediate public health response and the long-term public health needs (progress, challenges, etc).

Handbook of Environmental Economics
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks HC79 .E5 H3285 2003 (3 volumes)

Companion to Environmental Studies by Noel Castree (Editor); Mike Hulme (Editor); James D. Proctor (Editor)
Call Number: Armstrong Science Library GE70 .C54 2018
Publication Date: 2018
"Presents a comprehensive and interdisciplinary overview of the key issues, debates, concepts, approaches and questions that together define environmental studies today."

Country Analysis Briefs (Energy)
Published by the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Provides energy background and other information for many (but not all) countries around the world.
OECD Environmental Performance Reviews (by Country)
Reports "provide independent assessments of countries’ progress in achieving domestic and international environmental policy commitments and goals, together with policy-relevant recommendations. They address the management of air, water, waste, biodiversity, and land."

Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.

Making Sense : A Student's Guide to Research and Writing : Geography and Environmental Sciences
4th ed. Includes Writing a lab report ; Doing field work and writing about it; and much more.
Print: Armstrong Library Stacks G74 .N67 2009.