Searchable biographical database of 90,000 Germanic individuals, from the Middle Ages to the present, in all sectors of the public, scientific, economic and cultural life. ADB contains the digitized print edition (55 volumes and index, 1875-1912, Fraktur typeface). NDB contains citations only, no full text, for its 23 volumes, 1953-present.
Ref ML105.B16 2001 Baker's is widely regarded as the most authoritative source of biographical information for musicians. Selective lists of works are included for most composers and discographies for popular and jazz musicians. The last volume contains a special index of women composers and musicians, a genre index, and an index by nationality.
Focuses on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present (c2004). Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, and other information.
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Davis Family Library Ref CT773 .D4 2004.
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides basic information about an author or a playwright as well as literary criticism from journals. When you do a search on the author's name, the first tab of results will be a link to a biographical profile of his/her life and works, while the second tab will give links to literary criticism and other articles. Other tabs will lead to additional resources.