A full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. KISS offers over 1 million full text articles by over 300,000 authors, covering all subject areas.
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. “JSTOR All Collections” includes all JSTOR collections to which Middlebury subscribes. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. (Now on the ProQuest platform.)
This site has collection of well preserved precious information and is accessible to the Korean people. Information regarding Korean ancient books, cultural heritage, cultural arts, environment, ecosystem, law, and North Korea related materials are included. And through ‘knowledge white paper’, governmental white paper is provided.
A union catalog of the public libraries of South Korea including the National Library. Bibliographic information is searchable by keyword, title, author, publisher, and browsing by subject is also supported.
(open access for bibliographic information; partially open access for full-text) This portal site provides the holdings of the nine participating libraries and portal services: the National Library, the National Assembly Library, the Digital Science Library, the Korean Institute of Science and Technology Information (KISTI), RISS, the Korean Agricultural Science Digital Library, the Korean Knowledge Portal, and the National Defense Digital Library. A single search displays results separately for the nine participating databases, providing full text information when available to registered users.
(open access for bibliographic information; partially open access for full-text) RISS’s databases included the union catalog of more than 9 million records from 663 academic libraries, over 2.9 million articles from 158,000 domestic journals (11,000 of them in full-text), more than 1.5 million domestic dissertations (913,000 in full-text) and more than 20,000 foreign dissertations on Korea or by Koreans.
(open access for bibliographic information; partially open access for full-text) One of the two national libraries in Korea, the National Assembly Library’s extensive books, journals, non-book materials, newspapers, dissertations, articles, and the legislative knowledge database are exceptionally strong in the social sciences.
This reputable portal site provides a one-stop search engine for numerous historical databases built and shared by nearly twenty organizations including the National Institute of Korean History, Academy of Korean Studies, Kyujanggak Institute of Korean Studies, etc. There is a directory organizing materials according to the type: historic books and documents, periodicals, classical translations, research data, bibliographies and catalogs, biographies, maps, dictionaries, chronologies, multimedia, historical relics and sites, epigraphs, the chronicles of the Chosǒn dynasty, and old newspapers. The federated search engine provides bibliographic information fetched from various sources—one can easily get carried away while exploring different interfaces and catalogs.