Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYSE 1511 Folk Fairy Tales of the World

Once upon a time, there was a guide to library resources for a First-year Seminar.

Not Sure Where to Start?

To search most of our online databases, first try LibrarySearch. You can also begin your search in one of the larger, general databases below. 

Newspapers

Find Subject-Specific Databases

When you are ready to narrow your search to a subject-specific database, see your subject's Research Guide for recommendations at go/guides.

What Are Scholarly Sources?

What's a Database?

Looking for scholarly articles online? A library database can help!

A library database is an online, searchable collection of publications that can include journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, images, and reference sources. Databases can include citations of the publications they index, the entire full-text publication, or both.

Some databases are general enough that you can find material from any discipline. Other databases are subject specific. Most databases you find through Middlebury Libraries are scholarly and have publications that are not available for free elsewhere online.

Search many Middlebury databases at the same time with LibrarySearch. Consult a Research Guide for subject-specific databases.