This guide will help you find the best library databases, search tools, and reference sources relevant to the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department. Use the pages in this guide to find:
Databases containing scholarly articles about chemistry and biochemistry.
Resources for finding eBooks and print books.
Places to search for news and background information about chemistry and biochemistry-related topics.
Resources to help you cite your sources using the proper format.
Not Sure Where to Start?
These are the most widely-used research databases in Chemistry
SciFinder-n searches Chemical Abstracts and is a comprehensive index to pure and applied chemistry literature. You can also search by drawing chemical substances. It is accessible to Middlebury users but you must first create an account using your Middlebury email address. Click here to create an account.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences. It is very useful for forward and backward citation searching. Look for the "Full Text Options" to check to see if access through the library is possible or to place a request for the article through ILL.
-Contains more than 47 million records, 70% with abstracts, more than 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. 70% of content is pulled from international sources. Includes MEDLINE.
-Records since 1996 include searchable cited references.
-Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off campus).
PubMed comprises more than 23 million selected citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. View "MeSH" terms given to articles to improve your searching. Citations may include links to full-text content, or a "Middlebury Link" to check to see if access through the library is possible.
A comprehensive collection of chemistry journals available through the American Chemical Society. The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication may also be viewed on this platform.
