Guides: Dance: Cite it!

What Citation Style Should I Use?

In general, researchers in dance will use either Modern Languages Association (MLA) style or the Notes-Bibliography version of the Chicago Manual of Style. If you're not sure, always check with your professor to see if there is a required style for your paper.

Chicago Notes & Bibliography guide

An explanation of the Notes & Bibliography system from the Chicago Manual of Style Online (16th ed.)

Chicago Style Quick Guide

Middlebury Citation and Style Guide

This citation guide provides links to the major style guides and provides examples of the most common types of citations. It also has links to citation software that will help you store, take notes, and cite your sources. The top tools are listed here as well.

Organize Your Sources

Zotero
Browser plug-in that helps you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. For Firefox, Chrome, and Safari. Similar to RefWorks, but slightly easier to learn. Check our guide to get started.
Zotero@Middlebury
A guide for using Zotero, the citation & bibliographic manager.

More Free and Simple Citation Tools

Here are some additional tools to help you cite. They do not have as many options as the full Zotero application. Generally, these require manual input of text, but some can search by url, doi, or isbn to retrieve the data. These tools create the order & punctuation for you.

ZoteroBib
Manual citation generator for creating a single citation (or use to add a citation to your Zotero database).
NCSU Citation Builder
APS, MLA, Chicago (author/date), CSE / CBE.
KnightCite
APA, Chicago, MLA
NoodleTools (free options)
APA, Chicago, MLA

Avoiding Plagiarism

Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing (Purdue University OWL)
Helps writers refer to outside sources by explaining the differences among quoting, paraphrasing, and summarizing.

From JSTOR's Research Basics Course

Writing Help

Middlebury Editorial Style Guide
When you are trying to decide whether to capitalize a person’s title, whether to hyphenate certain words, how to format a vertical list, and other questions related to form, refer to this guide. It addresses the most commonly asked questions about Middlebury's editorial style (from College Communications)
Writing Center (Middlebury College)
Situated in the Center for Teaching, Learning, and Research (CTLR) at the Davis Family Library, the Writing Center provides students the opportunity to meet with writing program faculty and peer writing tutors at every stage of the writing process.