Data & Statistics

Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe, it searches statistical publications and tables by keywords, subjects, and categories. Find a Table searches full text. Find a Publication searches summaries of statistical publications, some with links to full-text. If full text isn't available, check LibrarySearch or google the publication name. See the Quick Start Guide for getting started. Also see Statistical Abstract (under related subscriptions dropdown menu).

Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.

A quantitative statistics portal with over 60,000 topics on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more. Few time series, but provides source citations for all statistics.

The features of this online service include:- Efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries) - Quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment - Identify spatial patterns and trends - Generate time-saving, easy-to-use, and customized reports - Dynamic charts, tables and maps - Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or GIS Shape files

Millennial Edition - updated and expanded online version with data updated to the1990's+ (additional 30 years worth and triple the number of data series than its predecessor).

ICPSR provides access to a large archive of social science data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Includes some public opinion polls. In order to download data, you must create a MyData account with ICPSR, using a middlebury.edu email address. Tutorials are available on YouTube.

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.

Public opinion survey data from the Roper Center at the University of Connecticut. iPoll is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Includes RoperExpress (offers downloads of over 20,000 datasets from over 100 countries to use with statistical software to conduct bivariate and multivariate analysis) and Roper Explorer (online analysis of several hundred studies allowing cross-tabulations without specialized statistical software). To download datasets, register to create an account and agree to their terms about confidentiality, etc. Roper provides educational material for using their tools and learning the basics about polling and analysis.

Books, Working papers and other publications from NBER. Includes links to data as well. (Note that Middlebury only has subscribed access to NBER Working Papers, not other publications, though some is freely accessible.)

Access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD)Statistical Databases (except IEA Databases); all OECD E-books, and all OECD periodicals. Also try OECD.stat if you just want data (extracts data from across approx. 300 datasets. See User Guide). Go shortcut is go/oecd.

The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and re-usage of georeferenced data from earth system research. The system provides a platform at pangaea.de and guarantees long-term availability of its content through a commitment of the following hosting institutions (hereinafter referred to as PANGAEA): the Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar- and Marine Research (AWI) and the Center for Marine Environmental Sciences, University of Bremen (MARUM).

Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 14,000+ surveys conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and 100 other countries around the world. Logout when done (1 user limit).

The World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.