Search the digitized full-text and images of several major newspapers including New York Times (1851-2013); Wall Street Journal (1889-2000); Los Angeles Times (1881-1993); Washington Post (1877-2000); Chicago Tribune (1849-1993); Boston Globe (1872-1985); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2004); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The student newspaper of Middlebury College. Weekly during academic year. To begin your search, consult this MIDCAT record to find out where the issue/s you need are located. Many researchers want to search digitized copies. If this is what you want, try these locations: Middleburycampus.com (2001- present), and Internet Archive “Middlebury College Newspapers & Magazines (1905-1980) -- follow these instructions: a) Enter your keywords in the “Search this collection” box, b) Check the ”text contents” box for a full-text search.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Indexes articles in approx. 375 leading general magazines (mainly popular literature). Available in print as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Includes book, film, and television reviews.
Print volumes: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 (1900 - present)
Search or browse the full-text digital images of the Economist. Create an account if you want to save articles and searches. Includes full color images, covers, and a selection of exportable financial tables.
This section of the Internet Archive offers free movies, films, and videos, and contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users, ranging from classic full-length films to daily alternative news broadcasts to cartoons and concerts. Many are available for free download. The Internet Archive is a library founded to provide access to historical collections that exist in digital format including texts, audio, and video.
The Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division (MBRS) is responsibile for the acquisition, cataloging and preservation of the Library's motion picture and television collections. The Moving Image Research Center to provides access and information services to an international community of film and television professionals, archivists, scholars and researchers. Their holdings complement the audio recordings served in the Recorded Sound Research Center.
This digital collection presents a variety of Registry titles including Master Hands (1936), a beautiful mechanical ballet shot on a General Motors automotive assembly line, and a plea for racial tolerance from Frank Sinatra in The House I Live In (1945). The National Film Registry is a list of movies deemed "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant" that are earmarked for preservation by the Library of Congress. They are not selected as the "best" American films of all time, but rather as works of enduring importance to American culture. They reflect who we are as a people and as a nation.
Online access to some of the foremost historical treasures of the Library of Congress and other major research archives. Includes books, spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music. Includes more than 9 million items that document U. S. history and culture. Maps can either be viewed on the website or downloaded. It provides full bibliographic information about each map.
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.