Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genealogy

A basic guide for beginning research on Vermont genealogy

Bibliographies and Guides

Bassett, T. D. S. Vermont: A Bibliography of Its History. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1981. (Ref. F49 A1 V4)

Burgess, Michael, et al. State and Province Vital Records Guide. San Berardino, CA: Borgo Press, 1993. (Ref. HA38 A2114 1993)

Carleton, Hiram. Genealogical and Family History of the State of Vermont: A Record of the Achievements of her People. New York: Lewis Publishing Co., 1903. (Vt. Coll. F48 C28)

Dodge, Prentiss C. Encyclopedia, Vermont Biography: A Series of Authentic Biographical Sketches of the Representative Men of Vermont and Sons of Vermont in Other States. Burlington: Ullery Publishing Co., 1912. (Vt. Coll. F48 D64)

Gilman, Marcus D. Bibliography of Vermont: Or a List of Books and Pamphlets Relating in any Way to the State. Burlington: Free Press Association, 1897. (Vt. Coll. F48 G5)

Hemenway, Abby M. Vermont Historical Gazetteer. 5 vols. Burlington: The Author, 1867-1891. (Vt. Coll. F46 V51)

Kemp, Thomas Jay. Virtual Roots; A Guide to Genealogy and Local History on the World Wide Web. Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1997. (Ref. CS21 K46 1997)

National Archives Trust Fund Board. Genealogical & Biographical Research; A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1996. (Ref. CS47 A1 U64 1996)

Neagles, James C. The Library of Congress: A Guide to Genealogical and Historical Research. Salt Lake City, Utah: Ancestry Pub., 1990. (Ref E180 .A1 N4 1990)

New England Library Association. A Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research. New England Library Association, 1980. (Vt. Coll. CS44 N4)

Ullery, Jacob G. Men of Vermont: An Illustrated Biographical History of Vermonters and Sons of Vermont. Brattleboro: Transcript Publishing Co., 1894. (Vt. Coll. F48 F41)

Vermont. Secretary of State. Basic Sources for Vermont Historical Research. Montpelier: Secretary of State, 1981. (Vt. Coll. F49 A1 B3 1981)