Guides: English: Articles

Questions?

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Davis Family Library 250M

802.443.5065

Subjects: Creative Writing, English, Open Education

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarship in literary criticism, linguistics, film, and folklore. Some full-text.
JSTOR All Collections This link opens in a new window
Database with full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles. (go/jstor)

LibrarySearch
Middlebury library's search engine. It searches everything we own or have access to, including books, articles, and reference materials. It's multidisciplinary, so you'll find articles about Literature and all the other subjects taught at Middlebury. (go/LibrarySearch/)

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals

Library databases are:

online, searchable collections of publications
may include peer-reviewed articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, e-books, primary sources, and more
may include full-text publications or bibliographic citations
may be narrowly focused on a specific field or broadly include material from a variety of disciplines
are often accessible by subscription only, through your library

Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off campus). To access Project Muse for alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/musealum
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Database with scholarly and popular articles. Some full-text.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly materials pertaining to the study of European and other cultures between A.D. 400 and 1700. Currently indexes articles, books, and reviews.

Language & Literature
Search multiple ProQuest databases at once to find journal & newspaper articles, magazines, abstracts, and other published materials related to the study of literature.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection.

Newsstand (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection, of articles from over 1,000 newspapers. Coverage: 1980 - present. Click on browse to see the list of available newspapers.
19th Century British Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 48 national and regional newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Search the digitized full-text and images of several major newspapers including New York Times (1851-2018); Wall Street Journal (1889-2010); Los Angeles Times (1881-1997); Washington Post (1877-2006); Chicago Tribune (1849-1998); Boston Globe (1872-1990); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)

Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) This link opens in a new window
A fully digitized run (1842-2003) of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspaper. Includes over 260,000 pages in full color. Browse print issues from 1855 through 1858 in Special Collections. (click here for the catalog record).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is the new platform for LexisNexis Academic. It offers a streamlined, unified search of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Resources include the full text of national and international newspapers; magazines; wire services; business and financial information; U.S. laws, regulations, and legal cases. Designed to meet student needs, it allows individual customization along with collaboration tools for creating shared work space for group projects.
Times of London Digital Archive, 1785 - six years ago This link opens in a new window
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 onwards (most recent 6 years not included). Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper. Search with other collections and British newspapers via Gale Artemis.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Research early to order books and articles through ILL. Books often arrive within a week; articles within 1-2 days. go/ill/