Guides: English: Websites

Websites

British History Online This link opens in a new window
A digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
A research database from Adam Matthew with original material from 30 libraries and archives including the British Library, Duke University, and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

Victorian Web
The Victorian Web is the WWW translation of Brown University's Context 61, which served as a resource for courses in Victorian literature. These materials ultimately derive from Context 32, the Intermedia web that provided contextual information for English 32, 'Survey of English literature from 1700 to the Present.' Context 32 was begun in Spring 1987 as part of Brown University's Institute for Research in Information and Scholarship (IRIS) Intermedia project, which IBM, Apple Computers, the Annenberg/CPB Project, and other sources funded.
Project Gutenberg
There are over 25,000 books in the Project Gutenberg Online Book Catalog. A grand total of over 100,000 titles are available at Project Gutenberg.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 (scholar's edition) This link opens in a new window
Provides 74 document projects. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Includes more than 2,200 documents, approx. 800 images, & almost 800 links to other websites. Also includes a dictionary of social movements and organizations; a chronology of U.S. women's history; and teaching tools.

American Women (Library of Congress)
Simultaneously a guide, an online magnet for digitized women's history materials drawn from a plethora of Library sources, and a gateway, American Women is an innovative addition to American Memory. Includes Research Guide.

Making of America Journals (Cornell) This link opens in a new window
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from Antebellum through Reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science & technology.

American Memory (Library of Congress)
Online access to some of the foremost historical treasures of the Library of Congress and other major research archives. Includes books, spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music. Includes more than 9 million items that document U. S. history and culture. Maps can either be viewed on the website or downloaded. It provides full bibliographic information about each map.

Digital Public Library of America dpla This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America?s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America?s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Mountain West Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region. Free access to over 813,000 resources from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, historical societies, and government agencies, counties, and municipalities.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Contains Grove Art Online, today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) - the landmark reference work containing more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries. Grove Art Online articles and bibliographies are regularly updated. It also includes images and provides access to The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

PennSound
UPenn open database of recorded poetry. Browse by author as well as series, anthology, singles, and classics.
Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature (NYPL)
The Berg Collection contains some 35,000 printed volumes, pamphlets, and broadsides, and 2,000 linear feet of literary archives and manuscripts, representing the work of more than 400 authors. Printed books in English date from William Caxton’s 1480 edition of the Chronicles of England to the present day, and the manuscripts encompass an almost equally lengthy period.