Guides: Anthropology: Articles

Tip: Peer-Review Articles & Databases

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals

Library databases are:

online, searchable collections of publications
may include peer-reviewed articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, e-books, primary sources, and more
may include full-text publications or bibliographic citations
may be narrowly focused on a specific field or broadly include material from a variety of disciplines
are often accessible by subscription only, through your library

The Librarian Suggests...

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
American Anthropological Association (AAA) database with 100 years of online anthropological materials, including: current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications,including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.
JSTOR All Collections This link opens in a new window
Extensive, full-text database of scholarly journals. Includes Current Anthropology.

ProQuest Social Sciences
Search multiple social sciences databases including ProQuest Social Science Journals, American Periodicals, ERIC, GenderWatch, LLBA, & PAO.

More Library Databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Database that includes archaeology journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
-Contains more than 47 million records, 70% with abstracts, more than 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. 70% of content is pulled from international sources. Includes MEDLINE.
-Records since 1996 include searchable cited references.
-Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off campus).

Selected Journals

Archaeology

American Journal of Archaeology
The journal of the Archaeological Institute of America, was founded in 1885 and is one of the world’s most distinguished and widely distributed peer-reviewed archaeological journals.

Environmental Anthropology

Environment and Society
Contains critical reviews of the latest research literature including subjects of theoretical, methodological, substantive, and applied significance.
Human Ecology: An Interdisciplinary Journal
Features articles that cover the quality of the environment and the role of social and cultural factors and population density in the maintenance of ecosystem.
Journal of Ecological Anthropology
Provides an interdisciplinary forum for innovative academic exploration of the interface between humans and their sociocultural and biophysical environments.
Society & Natural Resources
Provides knowledge about natural resource management issues; on biological and physical changes resulting from acid rain; and on genetic diversity in worldwide agriculture, as well as water resource degradation.

Linguistic Anthropology

Journal of Linguistic Anthropology
Publishes articles on the anthropological study of language, including analysis of discourse, language in society, language and cognition, and language acquisition of socialization.

Medical Anthropology

Medical Anthropology Quarterly
Review articles and brief research reports on health, disease and illness from a biological, cultural, linguistic, and historical perspective.

Sociocultural Anthropology

American Anthropologist
Covers cultural, physical, linguistic and applied anthropology. Includes information on archaeology.
American Ethnologist
Presents topical papers, review articles, comments and reflections, and reviews in areas such as ecology, economy, social organization, ethnicity, politics, and ideology.
Current Anthropology
Contains research articles and commentary throughout social, cultural, and physical anthropology; ethnology; folklore; and more.

Library Databases in Related Fields

America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles and books on history (from prehistoric times to current period) of United States and Canada. 1964 to current.
ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window
Designed to support religious and theological research. It includes book titles and a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews. 1949-present.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index for over 600 journals, books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 1969-present.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest source of education information, containing more than 1.4 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, book reviews, and documents in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Focuses on Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Hispanics in the U.S. Go shortcut = go/hapi/.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
International journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 1906 - present.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles and more on the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Now on the EBSCO platform. Abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Sociology research database with abstracts for more than 720 "core" coverage journals, data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals, and indexing for books/monographs and conference papers.

Newspapers

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is the new platform for LexisNexis Academic. It offers a streamlined, unified search of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Resources include the full text of national and international newspapers; magazines; wire services; business and financial information; U.S. laws, regulations, and legal cases. Designed to meet student needs, it allows individual customization along with collaboration tools for creating shared work space for group projects.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
90-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 5000 publications from many countries in many languages.

Find a specific newspaper
Search by title.

Scholarly Sources on the Web

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Free, full text, quality-controlled scholarly journals.

AfricaBib
AfricaBib.org provides access to multiple databases, including:
- Africana Periodical Literature
- African Women
- Women Travelers, Explorers, and Missionaries to Africa
- African Studies Abstracts
- African Journals Online
NCJRS Abstracts (National Criminal Justice Reference System)
From the U.S. Dept. of Justice. 'Contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.'
ICPSR's Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
Contains citations of publications that use or study data from ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research). See also their variables database and their main search page.
Bibliografia Mesoamericana
'A comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines.' From FAMSI/UPenn. See the about page for credits and coverage notes.

Can't Find it at Middlebury?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Research early to order books and articles through ILL. Books often arrive within a week; articles within 1-2 days. go/ill/