This guide will help you find the best library databases, search tools, and reference sources relevant to the Biology Department. Use the pages in this guide to find:
Databases containing scholarly articles about Biology.
Resources for finding eBooks and print books.
Places to search for news and background information about Biology-related topics.
Resources to help you cite your sources using the proper format.
Not Sure Where to Start?
These are the most widely-used research databases in Biology
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature. Look for the "Full Text Options" to check to see if access through the library is possible.
-Contains more than 47 million records, 70% with abstracts, more than 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. 70% of content is pulled from international sources. Includes MEDLINE.
-Records since 1996 include searchable cited references.
-Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off campus).
PubMed comprises more than 23 million selected citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. View "MeSH" terms given to articles to improve your searching. Citations may include links to full-text content, or a "Middlebury Link" to check to see if access through the library is possible.
Middlebury Library's search engine. It searches nearly everything we own or have access to, including books, articles, films, reference materials, primary sources and more. (go/LibrarySearch/)
