Guides: Abenaki: Encyclopedias & More

What Are Reference Sources?

American Indian and the United States: a documentary history by Wilcomb E. Washburn (Editor)
Call Number: Davis Family Reference E93 .W27
Handbook of North American Indians by Garrick A. Bailey (Editor); William C. Sturtevant (Series edited by)
Call Number: E76.2 .H36
This volume provides a basic reference work on Indians and Arctic peoples as a continuing element in a changing and sometimes difficult environment responding to the social forces around them, making such accommodations as circumstances require, but remaining identifiably Indian in a contemporary society.

U*X*L Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes (UXL)
Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 300 volumes published since 1960, over 196,000 pages and over 15 different academic subjects from ancient history, economic history, history of music, language and linguistics, theatre studies and performing arts, and religious studies.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work.