Guides: FYSE 1050 Filling in the Blanks: Articles

Not Sure Where to Start?

To search most of our online databases, first try LibrarySearch. You can also begin your search in one of the larger, general databases below.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited.
JSTOR All Collections This link opens in a new window
Middlebury's access includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections (Global Plants, 19th-century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom in southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa). Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus).
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off campus). To access Project Muse for alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/musealum
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
-Contains more than 47 million records, 70% with abstracts, more than 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. 70% of content is pulled from international sources. Includes MEDLINE.
-Records since 1996 include searchable cited references.
-Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off campus).

Vermont Online Library (Gale)
The Vermont Online Library (Gale) provides access to over a dozen different databases ranging from business, health, computer, and newspaper databases to K-12 resources. Both academic and popular materials are included as well as some full-text. See individual database descriptions for details.

Newspapers

Middlebury College Library Newspapers Guide
Directs you to all current and historical newspaper resources available at Middlebury.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is the new platform for LexisNexis Academic. It offers a streamlined, unified search of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Resources include the full text of national and international newspapers; magazines; wire services; business and financial information; U.S. laws, regulations, and legal cases. Designed to meet student needs, it allows individual customization along with collaboration tools for creating shared work space for group projects.

Find Subject-Specific Databases

When you are ready to narrow your search to a subject-specific database, see your subject's Research Guide for recommendations at go/guides.

What Are Scholarly Sources?

Scholarly vs. Popular Material
How to tell what's scholarly, and what's not.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
A visual introduction to the basic features of scholarly articles.

What's a Database?

Looking for scholarly articles online? A library database can help!

A library database is an online, searchable collection of publications that can include journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, images, and reference sources. Databases can include citations of the publications they index, the entire full-text publication, or both.

Some databases are general enough that you can find material from any discipline. Other databases are subject specific. Most databases you find through Middlebury Libraries are scholarly and have publications that are not available for free elsewhere online.

Search many Middlebury databases at the same time with LibrarySearch. Consult a Research Guide for subject-specific databases.