Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Italian

Browse library resources for the study of Italian.

How to Access Online Library Databases from Off Campus

The library subscribes to many online databases.  To access these resources you have to sign in via Middlebury's system before you get  to the database or website in order to be recognized as a subscriber when you get there. 

You do this by starting at the library homepage or research guides and following our links to databases, ebooks, journals, etc.  When off-campus you will be prompted for your midd login using our ezproxy system similar to how you login to our computers on campus.  If you go straight to an article or database from google when you are off campus, you cannot be authenticated and you won't get access (unless it is a free resource).

How to Request Library Materials from Off Campus

Some library materials are already available electronically (e-books, streaming media, online journal articles), and you can find most of these materials in LibrarySearch. For library materials that aren’t available electronically, select from the following options:

  • Request e-version of book chapter or article (ILL)
    Please place requests for e-versions of book chapters and articles through this Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form. We can digitize portions of printed books or articles that we already own, and if we don’t own the item, we can request a digital copy of it from another library. To learn more about ILL services, please visit: go.middlebury.edu/illguide/

  • Request full-length e-material
    If you need access to the entirety of a book, please make a purchase request and we will try to purchase an e-version.

Please note that during the summer, we are not able to ship print materials to our borrowers, but we will strive to provide electronic access to books, articles, and media items as needed. Please contact a librarian with any questions.

Help, I've hit a Paywall. Do I Need to Buy Access?

In most cases No!  But what should you do?

Check our holdings. Did you follow a link from the library homepage or database after you logged in to our system? If not, look up the item using LibrarySearch and follow the links from there.  We might even have it from another source. (Many articles also appear in full-text library databases rather than just from the publisher website).

Does the item not show up in a search or only show up as a citation and no full-text online? In that case, request it via Interlibrary Loan!  It won't be instant but we will do our best to get you a pdf of the article or item.

In the case of books, you may need to request that we buy an e-book for the library collection, using our Purchase Request Form. In many cases, an e-book may not be commercially available. If you can identify a few chapters you really need, you can put in a request through Interlibrary Loan and we can usually get them as pdf's (whole books cannot be scanned due to copyright restrictions).

Not sure what option to use? Reach out to us librarians using our Ask a Librarian page. We can work with you to determine the best ways to meet your research needs.

 

Library Announcements

DLINQ's Student Resources Page

Digital Student Resources highlights the top resources and help from Digital Learning and Inquiry (DLINQ), the library, and Information Technology Services (ITS), all in one place.