'...a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.'
This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.
Part of World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean. 'These records are the declassified diplomatic correspondence between the U.S. State Department and the embassies and consulates within the country...The collection deals with the end of the Trujillo dictatorship (1961), including the breaking of diplomatic relations in 1960. Includes discussion of Trujillo's repression and the aftermath of the Trujillo regime...'
This collection documents the turbulent period that includes 1950 coup by General Paul Magloire, the 1957 elections in which Francois Duvalier (Papa Doc) was first elected on a populist platform and the beginnings of the creation of the Duvalier dynasty (1957-1986).
U.S. Library of Congress digital collection. 'The collection comprises 11 monographs scanned from printed copies and 39 political pamphlets and 2 monographs and a journal scanned from microfilm.' 'All pamphlets are in Spanish. Four of the books are in English and the rest in Spanish.'
'Executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil's national government during the period between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the Empire in 1889.' Includes Provincial Presidential Reports; Presidential Messages; Almanak Laemmert, Ministerial Reports. Also a Statistical Subject Guide.
From the Library of Congress, it 'explores the history of Brazil, interactions between Brazil and the United States from the eighteenth century to the present, and the parallels and contrasts between Brazilian and American culture and history.'