It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History - Latin American
A guide to library and quality web resources useful for Latin American history research
2nd Ed., Detroit:Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008 (6 volumes).
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Each volume includes extensive bibliographical essays which guide the reader to primary and secondary sources. Print: Davis Family Library F1410 .C1834 (11 volumes). Online: via Cambridge Histories Online.
Covers Pre-Hispanic (including Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples), colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. Subjects include art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region. Search just this title or with other sources in Oxford Reference Online.
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) includes in-depth articles and ebooks. Middlebury has access to the following handbook collections: Philosophy, Religion, Economics and Finance, Music, Literature, History, and Political Science.
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc. Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).