Guides: Computer Science: Articles

Major Computer Science Databases

Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.

-Contains more than 47 million records, 70% with abstracts, more than 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. 70% of content is pulled from international sources. Includes MEDLINE.
-Records since 1996 include searchable cited references.
-Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off campus).
arXiv
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Many of the papers are scheduled to be published in professional journals. Because papers are submitted and posted without peer review, the archive represents extremely up-to-date research. Materials are added on a daily basis.

IEEE Computer Science Digital Library
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) has a searchable database for its publications. This does not provide full text access, but is useful for a focused subject search. Check back with the Middlebury library journal list or request articles through Interlibrary Loan.
CiteSeer
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.

MathSciNet
MathSciNet is an easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.

General Science Databases

LibrarySearch
Middlebury Library's search engine. It searches nearly everything we own or have access to, including books, articles, films, reference materials, primary sources and more. (go/LibrarySearch/)

Gale Academic OneFile
Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Full text is available, but not in a formatted pdf.
JSTOR All Collections
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Generally more historic in science content, utilize the advanced search and add journal filters to search content specific to subjects relevant to your search.
ProQuest Central
Journal, newspaper, and magazine articles on topics from all major subject areas. Click "Change databases" to add or subtract relevant content.
SocINDEX
Sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. It features abstracts for more than 720 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals, and extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources.

Can't Find It at Middlebury?

If you want a book, article, or video not available through Middlebury Libraries resources, you can still get it! Consider requesting an item for purchase or through interlibrary loan. Reach out to us using our Ask a Librarian page. We can work with you to determine the best ways to meet your research needs.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Using your Middlebury credentials login and submit the details for your request. Depending on the item, we will send you a digital copy or request a physical item from another library.
Purchase Request Form
Think the library collection is missing something essential, or a digital resource would benefit more than just you? Request a purchase and we will examine if it is within our budget to purchase!