This guide will help you find the best library databases, search tools, and reference sources relevant to the Earth and Climate Science Department. Use the pages in this guide to find:
Databases containing scholarly articles about geological and environmental sciences.
Resources for finding eBooks and print books.
Places to search for news and background information about geological and environmental sciences-related topics.
Resources to help you cite your sources using the proper format.
Not Sure Where to Start?
These are widely-used research databases in Earth and Climate Sciences:
Middlebury Library's search engine. It searches nearly everything we own or have access to, including books, articles, films, reference materials, primary sources and more. (go/LibrarySearch/)
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef contains millions of references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. Coverage for North American resources starts in 1669, whereas worldwide coverage starts in 1933.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
-Contains more than 47 million records, 70% with abstracts, more than 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. 70% of content is pulled from international sources. Includes MEDLINE.
-Records since 1996 include searchable cited references.
-Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off campus).
