Guides: Film & Media Culture: Books

Subject Specialist

Email Me

Contact:

Davis Family Library 206

802.443.5818

Subjects: Abenaki, American Studies, Comparative Literature, Dance, Disability Studies, Film & Media Culture, Portuguese, Spanish, Theatre

You can also get items that aren't in our collections through these services:

ILLiad
Sign in with your Middlebury credentials to submit requests for Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)

CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material. Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
HathiTrust Digital Library
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. View full-text available only for items no longer in copyright. Also check Internet Archive and/or Digital Public Library of America (Similar coverage. Allows downloading of full documents no longer in copyright).

MIDCAT, LibrarySearch, and most online databases now have 'instant citation creators' somewhere on the page where you find your source.

In MIDCAT, for example, just click "Cite this item" below the title & publication info:

For another example, JSTOR includes a small tool box with various ways to capture citations:

PN1990-1990.92 Broadcasting (general)

PN1991-1991.92 Radio broadcasts

PN1992-1992.92 Television broadcasts

PN1992.93-1992.95 Nonbroadcast video recordings

PN1993-1999 Motion pictures

PN1997-1997.85 Screenplays, scenarios, etc.