Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Getting started with Internet Archive

Information on using Internet Archive for research, leisure, and personal digital archiving.

What is Internet Archive?

Currently, the Archive provides free, public access to:

  • 410 billion web pages (accessible via the Wayback Machine)
  • 20 million books and texts
  • 4.5 million audio recordings (including 180,000 live concerts)
  • 4 million videos (including 1.6 million Television News programs)
  • 3 million images
  • 200,000 software programs (including historic computer applications, vintage console & arcade games, and more)

Registered users can upload their own content to the Archive.

What is the Wayback Machine?

The Wayback Machine (web.archive.org) is a digital archive of the World Wide Web. Since its launch in 2001, over 452 billion pages have been added to the archive.

Users can enter a URL to view and interact with past versions of any website contained in the Archive, even if the site no longer exists on the "live" web.

Do I need to register?

No! Most content in the Archive is in the Public Domain and can be streamed or downloaded by any user, without the need to register or sign in.

However, by signing up for an Internet Archive account, you gain access to a number of features, including:

  • access to over 1.3 million modern (in copyright) ebooks
  • a personal web archive that lets you add new sites to the Wayback Machine
  • the ability to freely upload your own content to the Archive
  • API access for bulk uploading/downloading and software integration

Sign up for a free account at archive.org