Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Neuroscience

Browse library resources for the study of Neuroscience (go/nsciguide/)

Not Sure Where to Start?

Neuroscience

Databases and Indexes

Search for articles on your topic in these indexes and databases.

Recommended Journals

Browse these journals to get a sense of topics of current interest

Are you doing research for a paper? If so then you probably don't want to limit yourself to just one journal! Instead, search for your keywords in one of the indexes and databases above.

Biology

Databases and Indexes

Search for articles on your topic in these indexes and databases.

Recommended Journals

Browse these journals to get a sense of topics of current interest

Are you doing research for a paper? If so then you probably don't want to limit yourself to just one journal! Instead, search for your keywords in one of the indexes and databases above.

Linguistics

Databases and Indexes

Search for articles on your topic in these indexes and databases.

Philosophy

Databases and Indexes

Search for articles on your topic in these indexes and databases.

Psychology

Databases and Indexes

Search for articles on your topic in these indexes and databases.

Religion

Databases and Indexes

Search for articles on your topic in these indexes and databases.

Magazines & Newspapers

Primary Sources in Neuroscience

In Neuroscience, a primary source is a research article that is written by the person who performed the original scientific investigation. This is in contrast to review articles or articles published in newspapers or magazines that describe research that was performed by someone else.

To determine whether an article is a primary source, first, remember that the article must be written by the people who did the original scientific investigation. Look for language that indicates the authors performed the actions they are describing, for example, "We surveyed a sample of university students..." or "We observed thirty healthy adults..." Then, look at the structure of the article. Primary sources are usually divided into sections such as: Abstract, Introduction, Methods, Results, and Discussion or Conclusions. Don't be thrown off when you see references to investigations done by other researchers; most primary sources begin with a review of relevant work.

ILL: Get Articles from Other Libraries

If Middlebury does not have access to an article or book, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

For articles, a PDF usually accessible within a few days. 

Learn more: What is Interlibrary Loan?