Reference

A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work.

General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.

Cambridge Companions are lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, shaped and introduced to appeal to student readers.

Academic edition. Search by subject or keyword. In addition to topical essays, timelines, images, and videos, it provides links to full text journal articles and links to related websites.

French-language encyclopedia published by Britannica.

Spanish Language encyclopedia

Spanish-language encyclopedia geared toward primary and secondary level language facility.

Japanese language encyclopedia

Find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.

The new gateway into music research and the access point for new and forthcoming Oxford music reference subscriptions and products. Includes: Grove Dictionary of Music; Encyclopedia of Popular Music; Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Contains Grove Art Online, today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) - the landmark reference work containing more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries. Grove Art Online articles and bibliographies are regularly updated. It also includes images and provides access to The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Middlebury has access to Oxford Handbooks Online in the following subjects: Economics & Finance, History, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.