This guide will help you find the best library databases, search tools, and reference sources relevant to the Computer Science Department. Use the pages in this guide to find:
Databases containing scholarly articles about Computer Science.
Resources for finding eBooks and print books.
Places to search for news and background information about Computer Science-related topics.
Resources to help you cite your sources using the proper format.
Not Sure Where to Start?
These are widely-used research databases in Computer Science:
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature. Look for the "Full Text Options" to check to see if access through the library is possible.
-Contains more than 47 million records, 70% with abstracts, more than 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. 70% of content is pulled from international sources. Includes MEDLINE. -Records since 1996 include searchable cited references. -Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off campus).
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Many of the papers are scheduled to be published in professional journals. Because papers are submitted and posted without peer review, the archive represents extremely up-to-date research. Materials are added on a daily basis.
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) has a searchable database for its publications. This does not provide full text access, but is useful for a focused subject search. Check back with the Middlebury library journal list or request articles through Interlibrary Loan.
Middlebury Library's search engine. It searches nearly everything we own or have access to, including books, articles, films, reference materials, primary sources and more. (go/LibrarySearch/)
