Guides: WRPR 0101 Writing & Power: Home

Background Sources: Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work.

Library Search (Library default search)

LibrarySearch
Middlebury Library's search engine. It searches nearly everything we own or have access to, including books, articles, films, reference materials, primary sources and more. (go/LibrarySearch/)

Disciplinary Databases

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. The documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, 1960-present. Now on the ProQuest platform.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search multiple social sciences databases including Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and PsycINFO.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Journal, newspaper, and magazine articles on topics from all major subject areas. Complements LibrarySearch.
JSTOR All Collections This link opens in a new window
Middlebury's access includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections (Global Plants, 19th-century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom in southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa). Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus).

Newspapers

Middlebury College Library Newspapers Guide
Directs you to all current and historical newspaper resources available at Middlebury.

Getting Help from a Librarian: go/askus/

Go/AskUs/ is a simple way to get in touch with a Middlebury librarian, and to find answers to common questions. At go/AskUs/, you'll find a searchable FAQ, an appointment scheduler to make an appointment for a one-on-one consultation with a librarian, and ways to ask us questions via email, chat, or text message.