This page will help you find encyclopedias and other reference sources. What are reference sources? Reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases. They may:
give you a succinct overview of a topic
help you identify a topic to explore in depth
provide quick, reliable facts
lead you to detailed studies through their bibliographies
Free online dictionary that supports both pinyin and Chinese characters. Draw characters with your mouse. Definitions include pronunciation, character stroke order, related words, antonyms, & example sentences. Website.
The innovative Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers essential language resources never before available online: fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.
Cambridge Companions are lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, shaped and introduced to appeal to student readers.
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. (Now on the ProQuest platform.)
GIS data available through China Geo-Explorer II, statistics presented through maps, and atlases.
Access monthly and yearly national, provincial, county, city, and industrial data for China along with yearbooks, census data and the following GIS data through China Geo-Explorer II: - Efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries) - Quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment - Identify spatial patterns and trends - Generate time-saving, easy-to-use, and customized reports - Dynamic charts, tables and maps - Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or GIS Shape files
Access monthly and yearly national, provincial, county, city, and industrial data for China along with yearbooks, census data and the following GIS data through China Geo-Explorer II: - Efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries) - Quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment - Identify spatial patterns and trends - Generate time-saving, easy-to-use, and customized reports - Dynamic charts, tables and maps - Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or GIS Shape files
Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe, it searches statistical publications and tables by keywords, subjects, and categories. Find a Table searches full text. Find a Publication searches summaries of statistical publications, some with links to full-text. If full text isn't available, check LibrarySearch or google the publication name. See the Quick Start Guide for getting started. Also see Statistical Abstract (under related subscriptions dropdown menu).
