Guides: Economics: Newspapers

Current Newspapers

Wall Street Journal
Access current (text only) WSJ articles through ProQuest National Newspapers and access the full digital images of earlier issues (back to 1959) on ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Bloomberg.com This link opens in a new window
Establish an account by registering with your Middlebury email: http://www.bloomberg.com/account/signin. After you verify your email address using the one-time code, we recommend creating a password in your account settings.

Bloomberg delivers business and markets news, data, analysis, and video to the world, featuring stories from Businessweek and Bloomberg News. Our subscription also includes access on the mobile app.

Financial Times
Most recent issues are only in print. Earlier issues are online for a limited time period.
New York Times: Online Pass
Get complete online access to nytimes.com by signing up for one of a limited number of NY Times Middlebury passes. Register with your middlebury.edu email address. (The New York Times is also available to read in print at the Davis Family Library.)
more...less...
Student Government Association manages and pays for the subscription to NYT academic pass during the fall and spring semesters, while Library does so during the summer only. The "summer" subscription expired on 9/4/2018.

Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Database of 65 Russian language newspapers, with various starting dates. The longest run is for Izvestiia, which goes back to 1980.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Features full-text U.S. newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Includes the LA Times, Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal, and one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers. Coverage: 1980 - current.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Streamlined, unified search of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Resources include the full text of national and international newspapers; magazines; wire services; business and financial information; U.S. laws, regulations, and legal cases.

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2018); Wall Street Journal (1889-2010); Los Angeles Times (1881-1997); Washington Post (1877-2006); Chicago Tribune (1849-1998); Boston Globe (1872-1990); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender(1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)

Times of London Digital Archive, 1785 - six years ago This link opens in a new window
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 onwards (most recent 6 years not included). Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper. Search with other collections and British newspapers via Gale Artemis.
World Newspaper Archive - Latin America This link opens in a new window
Formerly: Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922. Full-text page images from Newsbank/Readex. Searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers. More than 35 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela. Languages include Spanish, Portuguese, and English.

Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. Middlebury has access to all issues, from 1949 to the present.
Current Digest of the Chinese Press This link opens in a new window
The Current Digest of the Chinese Press offers a comprehensive understanding of current events and happenings from the Chinese point of view through English translations of key Chinese newspaper articles. Articles are chosen across a wide range of topics, including politics, international relations, security, economics, education, public health, culture and more.

Newspapers Research Guide
Find additional newspaper databases and titles in the collection of print, microform, and electronic subscriptions in the Libraries at Middlebury. Read articles online, or find out their library location.
CRL Newspapers Catalog
Search the Center for Research Libraries' catalog for newspapers. Browse by country and other options. Midd users can request issues on microfilm via our Interlibrary Loan service. Note the CRL number in your request.