Skip to Main Content

Music

Browse library resources for the study of music

Performance Archives

  • Carnegie Hall - Performance History
    This database contains records of 50,000 events, both musical and non-musical, that occurred in the public performance spaces of Carnegie Hall from its opening in 1891 to present. As of today, records spanning the period between 1891 and 1941 are now publicly available with more than 12,500 events covered. Additional data will be released on a regular basis.
  • Metropolitan Opera
    Includes historical information about the Metropolitan Opera in NYC, photos and summaries of the plots of major operas
  • Songs of America
    A collection of digitiazed scores, recordings and books fro the Library of Congress.

Archives Online

      • Bach Archive - Leipzig
        Links to digital copies of Bach manuscripts and other materials.
      • Beethoven-Haus Bonn
         Digital Archives
      • Bizet Catalogue
      • by Hugh MacDonald - online thematic catalogue & more
      • Frescobaldi Thematic Catalogue Online 
      • Online thematic catalogue of all the compositions attributed to Girolamo Frescobaldi
      • Mahler Archives
      • Online database created abd maintained by The Chicago Mahlerites and Colorado MahlerFest.
      • Milken Archive of Jewish Music
        Milken Archive is the largest collection of American Jewish music ever assembled—more than 700 recorded works, including over 500 world premier recordings. But the Milken Archive, known primarily up to now for its groundbreaking 50-CD series released on the Naxos label, is far more than a recording project. The Milken Archive’s collection consists of 800 hours of oral histories, 50,000 photographs and historical documents, and thousands of hours of video footage from recording sessions, interviews, and live performances, plus an extensive collection of program notes and essays.
      • Ernesto Nazareth
        Catolog of Ernesto Narzareth - a Brazilian composer. Includes both pdf scores and audio files of his works.
      • Carl Nielsen Works Catalogue
        Online thematic catalog of Nielsen's works complete with details of original manuscript sources, performance history, and primary texts.
      • Musical Manuscripts Onlinefrom the Morgan library.
        To access these music collections, users may browse a comprehensive list of composers in alphabetical order, and also consult a manuscript list associated with the composers
      • Juilliard Manuscript Collection 
        The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions, which were donated to the school in February 2006 by Juilliard Board Chairman Bruce Kovner.

         

 

Primary Sources