Music

 Streamed recordings from the British Library

Music and Deep Thoughts (Anglo-Irish folk music and Child Ballads)

 Archive of ethnographic video.

 Digital collection of East Aftrican recordings

The American Folklife Center's Archive was originally founded as the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library in 1928. In 1978 it became part of the American Folklife Center and was subsequently renamed the Archive of Folk Culture. Today the Archive includes over three million photographs, manuscripts, audio recordings, and moving images. It consists of documentation of traditional culture from all around the world including the earliest field recordings made in the 1890s on wax cylinder through recordings made using digital technology.

The Archive of Maori and Pacific Music houses the world’s largest ethnographic sound collection relating to the Pacific. Established in 1970 to promote research into the music of the indigenous people of New Zealand, the Maori, and those of the people of the Pacific Islands, its holdings today include material from most tribal groups of New Zealand and most Pacific Islands areas, and both commercial and field recordings of vocal and instrumental music.

The Archive of World Music, a collection of the Loeb Music Library, was established in 1976 by Professor John Ward and in 1992, with the appointment of Kay Kaufman Shelemay as Harvard's first senior professor of ethnomusicology, moved to the Loeb Music Library to become one of its special collections. It is devoted to the acquisition of archival field recordings of musics world-wide as well as to commercial sound recordings, videos, and DVDs of ethnomusicological interest.

Established in 1991, the Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era.  Our collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop.  The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.

An audiovisual archive that documents music and culture from all over the world.

Traditional music recorded in the southern US.

The Bodleian Library has unparalleled holdings of over 30,000 ballads in several major collections. The original printed materials range from the 16th- to the 20th-Century. The Broadside Ballads project makes the digitised copies of the sheets and ballads available to the research community.

The Chief George Manuel Memorial Library is an online library of texts which record and preserve our peoples' struggles to regain their rightful place in the international community.

From the American Memory project of the Library of Congress.

The Irish World Academy of Music and Dance is a centre of academic and performance excellence housed at the University of Limerick, Ireland. It offers a suite of taught MA and BA courses and a Grad. Dip into music and dance related subject areas. Its research is at the forefront of these fields of enquiry worldwide.

A digitized selection of the British Libraries collection.

Home site for MIM - the Musical Instrument Museum in Phoenix, Arizona

A website sponsored by africanmusic.org.

Library resource guide complied by Wesleyan University (Middletown, CT)

The Portal of African and Caribbean Cultures. News, music, arts and culture, society, travel, events.

Includes information about instuments and history of Cambodian Music.

Home of celtic music on the internet, since 1994. Ceolas houses the largest online collection of information on celtic music, and has links to hundreds of related sites

Describes the instruments used in Classical Chinese Music.

The leading resource for the Kora and Manding Music -- online since 1996

From the University Of Washington.

Written and maintained by Todd M. McComb.

SEAsite Indonesia: Arts & Culture

Site with links to Chinese Music. 

Oddmusic is home to unique, odd, ethnic, experimental and unusual musical instruments and resources

Omaha Indian Music features traditional Omaha music from the 1890s and 1980s.

Information and explanation of Indian music.

The original museum site was removed, but it can still be accessed through the Internet Archive. The videos can no longer be accessed through the site but are available on YouTube here: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3g4IY2aqziugR5xkP0fBmjW6IEXBDAAw

Follow the links to find sound files and videos of musicians and musical groups from around the world.