Guides: Sociology: Articles

Tip: Peer-Review Articles & Databases

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals

Library databases are:

online, searchable collections of publications
may include peer-reviewed articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, e-books, primary sources, and more
may include full-text publications or bibliographic citations
may be narrowly focused on a specific field or broadly include material from a variety of disciplines
are often accessible by subscription only, through your library

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. It features abstracts for more than 720 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals, and extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources.

ProQuest Social Sciences
Search multiple social sciences databases including ProQuest Social Science Journals, American Periodicals, ERIC, GenderWatch, LLBA, & PAO.
SSRN: Social Science Research Network
SRRN contains 'an abstract database containing abstracts on over 305,100 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 245,100 downloadable full text documents.' Requires free registration to download.

America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles and books on history (from prehistoric times to current period) of United States and Canada. 1964 to current.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index for over 600 journals, books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 1969-present.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest source of education information, containing more than 1.4 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles and more on the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Now on the EBSCO platform. Abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is the new platform for LexisNexis Academic. It offers a streamlined, unified search of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Resources include the full text of national and international newspapers; magazines; wire services; business and financial information; U.S. laws, regulations, and legal cases. Designed to meet student needs, it allows individual customization along with collaboration tools for creating shared work space for group projects.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Free, full text, quality-controlled scholarly journals.

AfricaBib
AfricaBib.org provides access to multiple databases, including:
- Africana Periodical Literature
- African Women
- Women Travelers, Explorers, and Missionaries to Africa
- African Studies Abstracts
- African Journals Online
NCJRS Abstracts (National Criminal Justice Reference System)
From the U.S. Dept. of Justice. 'Contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.'
ICPSR's Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
Contains citations of publications that use or study data from ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research). See also their variables database and their main search page.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Research early to order books and articles through ILL. Books often arrive within a week; articles within 1-2 days. go/ill/