Guides: Spanish: Articles

Tip: Peer-Review Articles & Databases

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals

Library databases are:

online, searchable collections of publications
may include peer-reviewed articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, e-books, primary sources, and more
may include full-text publications or bibliographic citations
may be narrowly focused on a specific field or broadly include material from a variety of disciplines
are often accessible by subscription only, through your library

JSTOR All Collections This link opens in a new window
Extensive, full-text database of scholarly journals.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals.

ProQuest Arts: Journals & Dissertations
Includes these databases: American Periodicals; British Periodicals; CBCA Complete: The Arts; Ethnic NewsWatch; Index Islamicus; International Index to Music Periodicals; MLA International Bibliography; ProQuest Career and Technical Education: The Arts; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: The Arts; ProQuest Research Library: The Arts

Fuente Académica Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 570 scholarly journals from Latin American, Spain, and Portugal. Mostly in Spanish and Portuguese but some are in English.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, book reviews, and documents in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Focuses on Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Hispanics in the U.S. Go shortcut = go/hapi/.

EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index for over 600 journals (400+ full-text), books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 1969-present. Go shortcut = go/econlit.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest source of education information, containing more than 1.4 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles and more on the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. The documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, 1960-present. Now on the ProQuest platform.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current.

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
International journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
EcoAméricas This link opens in a new window
Brief monthly reports on development and the environment in Latin America for an international audience of businesses, NGOs and public agencies.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is the new platform for LexisNexis Academic. It offers a streamlined, unified search of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Resources include the full text of national and international newspapers; magazines; wire services; business and financial information; U.S. laws, regulations, and legal cases. Designed to meet student needs, it allows individual customization along with collaboration tools for creating shared work space for group projects.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
90-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 5000 publications from many countries in many languages.

Clase and Periodica
Index of Latin American Journals in the sciences and humanities searchable via Bibliografia Latinoamericana (Biblat). Includes Spanish, Portuguese, French and English language journals. 1975 - present.
Compludoc
Interdisciplinary journal database from the Biblioteca de la Universidad Complutense, Madrid.
Dialnet Portal
Portal of the Universidad de La Rioja. There are a few fulltext journals, but many more TOC, and book listings. Be sure to search MidCat before ordering anything by ILL.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Free, full text, quality-controlled scholarly journals.

HLAS-Handbook of Latin American Studies
Indexes journals, books, documents, and reports on Latin America with good coverage of Latin American publications from 1935 to current. Search in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. Go shortcut = go/hlas
Latin American Open Archives Portal
The Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP) is a project of the Latin American Research Resources Project, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents and other difficult to access materials from the 'deep web'.
Portal de Revistas Académicas de la Universidad de Chile
Collection of digital journals
University of Cadiz Online Journal Collection
This collection contains full text of all journals published by the University of Cadiz.

Spanish Literature
Midd Library journals with articles relevant to Spanish and Latin American literature.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Research early to order books and articles through ILL. Books often arrive within a week; articles within 1-2 days. go/ill/