Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Thesis Guide

Resources for students writing a thesis or working on a senior project

It may be helpful to see examples of good quality Middlebury theses and dissertations.

See also the awards section of this guide for links to other examples of high-quality papers.

Senior Theses and Projects (Digital Archive)

In 2007 Middlebury began adding digital theses to a college-wide digital Institutional Repository. Departments determine which theses and senior work projects are eligible to be included.

Student Scholarship link See go/scholarship

(Note: to see theses by department, use the advanced search and search the department name in the publisher field. Ask a librarian if you need help).

Students interested in submitting their work should see the submission form (go/submit) - Faculty approval is required.

Older Honors Theses and Language School Dissertations

For many years, print copies of honors theses have been added to the College Archives in Special Collections. College Archive material cannot be taken outside of Special Collections, which has limited hours, so plan ahead.

Index of Honor Theses in College Archives

NOTE:  Breadloaf School of English does not require a thesis for their degrees.

Theses & Dissertations from other Schools

PhD Dissertations available in Full Text

Middlebury College subscribes to the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text database.   It contains full text for most of PhD dissertations and select master's theses issued by U.S. universities since 1997.  Please search this database before placing an ILL request for a Dissertation or Thesis.

Requesting a Thesis from another Institution

To request the loan of a dissertation or a thesis (not available in ProQuest) from another Institution or Library, search WorldCat for the thesis title.

In the WorldCat record click on the following link:

<p>ILL Request Button for Worldcat</p>

If you are unable to find the thesis in WorldCat you can submit the request in ILLiad manually, but our chances of borrowing a thesis not cataloged in WorldCat are slim.