Guides: Editing Wikipedia: Finding Reliable Sources

What are Scholarly or Reliable Sources?

U.S. Newspaper Directory 1690 - present
From the Library of Congress Chronicling America site.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
From Library of Congress. Search newspapers from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.' When complete, coverage will include all 50 U.S. states. Select Vermont newspapers have already been digitized, with more to come.
more...less...
From Library of Congress and the Nat'l Endowment for the Humanities. 'Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.' When complete, coverage will include all 50 U.S. states. Select Vermont newspapers have already been digitized, with more to come.
NewspaperArchive.com
Search historic newspapers, including Vermont newspapers.
Mondo Times.com
Worldwide news media guide for newspapers, magazines, radio and tv stations, networks and news agencies.
ANR Newspaper Database
From American Newspaper Representatives (ANR), a full-service newspaper representative company.

UlrichsWeb Global Serial Directory This link opens in a new window
Makes it easy to identify scholarly, peer-reviewed, or recommended titles for study or as publication outlets. Detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Includes ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting and indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is the new platform for LexisNexis Academic. It offers a streamlined, unified search of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources. To find company information, use the Guided Search Company Info option.

By Eric Dekker.