Articles - History - Ancient & Medieval - Guides at Middlebury College

Ancient History

L'Année Philologique
Library database - analytical bibliography of journal articles & books in classical studies on Greek and Latin works.

Medieval/Renaissance History

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
Library Database - comprehensive bibliography of scholarly materials pertaining to the study of European and other cultures between A.D. 400 and 1700. Currently indexes articles, books, and reviews.

LibrarySearch

LibrarySearch
LibrarySearch is the default search on the library home page. It searches library resources including MIDCAT, full-text newspapers and journals, our digital collections, and most of our other library databases.

Additional Article Databases

JSTOR All Collections This link opens in a new window
Middlebury's access includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections (Global Plants, 19th-century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom in southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa). Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus).
Art Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes art journals, magazines, bulletins and film reviews from 1984-current. Preceding years covered by Art Index Retrospective.
- 1984-current -- online
- 1929-1984 - Art Index Retrospective - online
- 1929-1995 - in print - N2 .A78
Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to art criticism, 1929-1984. Indexes art journals, magazines, bulletins and film reviews from 1929-=1984. Subsequent years covered by Art Index.
- 1984-current - Art Index -- online.
- 1929-1984 - Art Index Retrospective - online
- 1929-1995 - in print - N2 .A78

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present in publications since 1973. The recently unveiled (2010) free database search via The Getty Museum includes both BHA and the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), covering the years 1975-2007.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current.

Can't Find It at Midd?

If Middlebury does not have the item, request it via Interlibrary Loan (go/ill)

Tip: Worldcat, LibrarySearch, and many library databases include a link to Interlibrary Loan from each item we don't have. Look for the a Request button or links with the words Interlibrary Loan, Illiad, or similar.

or Link to ILLiad

Using these embedded links will put the information right into the form for you! If you don't see this link, you can manually enter the information at go/illiad (first time users will be prompted to set up their profile).

Questions? See ILL FAQ or Ask a Librarian