Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History - Ancient & Medieval

A guide to library and quality web resources useful for ancient & medieval history research

What are Primary and Secondary Sources?

Click to see slide show.

             link to What are Primary and Secondary Sources slideshow

Middlebury Special Collections & Archives

Middlebury College has a variety of primary source material in Special Collections & Archives in the Davis Family Library.  There are several ways to find their resources:

MIDCAT (Library Catalog)
Use the drop down menu on the main page to limit to Special Collections

illustration only:
Midcat search bar
This only includes items in published form such as books, periodicals, and media. Use options below for unpublished material.

ArchivesSpace
Searchable database of finding aids listing unique, historical items—such as manuscripts, letters, reports, diaries, and photographs found in the Special Collections and Archives collections.  For items that have been scanned see options under the Digital Collections page.

Digital Collections page
Several database options for searching a growing number of full-text of documents from Middlebury's Special Collections & Archives.

Find Primary Source Collections

Images

See the Books Sections Too!

Don't forget that books can be primary sources too (see tutorial for explanation).  Use that tab as well.

  • Books can be primary sources either directly (example, memoirs) or by reprinting primary sources (collections of letters, documents, etc.).
  • Secondary Sources may list primary sources in the bibliography.  If published, you may be able to borrow the item.

Primary Sources Handouts