Guides: Bread Loaf School of English: Articles

Journal & Magazine Articles

LibrarySearch
Middlebury Library's search engine. It searches nearly everything we own or have access to, including books, articles, films, reference materials, primary sources and more. (go/LibrarySearch/)

Gale Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited.
JSTOR All Collections
Full-text archive of about 4000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. “JSTOR All Collections” includes all JSTOR collections to which Middlebury subscribes. Shortcut: http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus).
Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni is the new platform for LexisNexis Academic. It offers a streamlined, unified search of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Resources include the full text of national and international newspapers; magazines; wire services; business and financial information; U.S. laws, regulations, and legal cases. Designed to meet student needs, it allows individual customization along with collaboration tools for creating shared work space for group projects.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Offers full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcut: http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off campus).

Google Scholar
Finds scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
1. Go to 'Settings' (click on the "hamburger menu" in the top left corner, then the cog wheel when the sidebar pops out).
2. Select 'Library Links' and search for 'Middlebury'
3. Select all displayed Middlebury locations, and
4. 'Save Preferences'

Journals & Magazines (Historical)

American Periodicals - 1740-1940
APS collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1940. Derives from the American Periodicals Series microform collection and features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years. Includes publications such as Vanity Fair, Life, and Ladies Home Journal.
British Periodicals Collection I
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection.