Primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.
A collection of digitized FBI documents made public via the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Contains 6,700 + documents and other media that have been scanned from paper. Also see GovernmentAttic.org for FBI and other federal agency FOIA docs.
Organized alphabetically by organization, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, cultural, and economic issues. It sheds light on internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society.
14 collections representing 12 different anti-Vietnam War organizations. The organizations represented in this module are Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, AMEX-Canada; Committee of Concerned Asian Scholars; Fifth Avenue Vietnam Peace Parade Committee; Indochina Peace Campaign; National Peace Action Coalition; New Mobilization Committee to End the War in Vietnam; Paris American Committee to Stop the War; Student Peace Union; Teachers Committee for Peace in Vietnam; and Vietnam Moratorium Committee.
If necessary, scroll down to "Log in thru your Institution." In the region-select pull-down menu, select Athens (OpenAthens Federation). In the institution pull-down, select "Middlebury College and Institute Libraries".
With an extensive scope of content focused on political extremism and radical thought, this archive is one of the first digital archives covering such a broad assortment of both far-right and radical left political groups. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera, which allow researchers to explore unorthodox social and political movements in new and innovative ways and to understand what impact they have had on today’s society.
Digital archive covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues in the mid-20th century. It contains translations of thousands of news articles, radio transcripts, and television transcripts from around the world, chosen by the U.S. Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Also offers rare insight into race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia. No U.S. papers or broadcasts are included in this database.
CHOOSE FROM TOPIC MENU. Includes 18 collections on topics ranging from civil rights, race relations, school integration, freedom riders, papers of Amiri Baraka,FBI surveillance, National Negro Business League, and more.
Fannie Lou Hamer was a voting rights activist and civil rights leader. She was instrumental in organizing Mississippi Freedom Summer for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and later became the Vice-Chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, attending the 1964 Democratic National Convention in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in that capacity. Her plain-spoken manner and fervent belief in the Biblical righteousness of her cause gained her a reputation as an electrifying speaker and constant activist of civil rights.
Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. The FBI files in this database provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Over 75 publications that originated from college and university campuses and surrounding communities. Includes Berkeley Barb, The Paper (East Lansing), the Los Angeles Free Press, The Fifth Estate (Detroit) and the East Village Other, and more.
Features more than 200 newsletter and periodical titles (1947 - 2004) issued by gay and lesbian political and social activist organizations throughout the country and on periodicals devoted to gay and lesbian political and social activist agendas.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I contains primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. It features documents published in more than 35 countries, and 15 languages. Part II provides coverage of underrepresented communities through access to key publications. It highlights often-excluded groups—even within the LGBTQ community—and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism.
Module 2 Only. It is focused upon the experiences of individuals from across the spectrum of human sexuality, including heterosexual and LGBTQI+ experiences, from the nineteenth century to the present day. It also covers the criminalization of sexuality, both in terms of sex work and the prosecution and persecution of primarily men for "homosexual acts." Includes information on the Stonewall riots and the resulting movements for change, the beginning of the Pride parades, and the HIV/AIDs crisis. Module 2 also includes collections from the Kinsey institute, the ONE Archives at the USC Libraries, and The National Archives, UK, plus the Edward Carpenter Papers, the Norman Haire Collection, the National Lesbian and Gay Survey, and the Anne Lister Diaries.
A wide range of collections documenting the American workers and labor unions in the 20th century, with a special emphasis on the interaction between workers and the U.S. federal government.
If necessary, scroll down to "Log in thru your Institution." In the region-select pull-down menu, select Athens (OpenAthens Federation). In the institution pull-down, select "Middlebury College and Institute Libraries".
The collection consists of records of the United Domestic Workers Union (U.S) from 1965-1979. The correspondence (1965-1979) reflects efforts in organizing the Union and includes such correspondents as Julian Bond, Senator Sam Nunn, Senator Herman Talmadge, Allen Williams, Andrew Young, and other Georgia and national political figures. Also contains selected files relating to Equal Opportunity Atlanta, which funded many of the Union's projects.
"The Library of Congress and GBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years (about page). It "features almost 40,000 hours of audio and video recordings produced by noncommercial broadcasting stations across the United States from the late 1940s to the 2010s,” --ccAdvisor.
An archival research collection from Adam Matthew with documents from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University and the New York Public Library. This collection documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the lives of Americans from 1800 to 1920 including the study of families and home life in the South and in the North, religion, race, education, employment, politics, marriage, sexuality, health, childhood, fashion, travel, and entertainment.
Searchable full-text of the famous 19th century womens' magazine, which today is considered among the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture.
A full-color digital archive comprising the backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines such as Cosmopolitan, Seventeen, Good Housekeeping, Essence, Redbook, Parenting, Lady's Home Journal, Town & Country, and more. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005. (Middlebury has access to Collections I and II; a full title list is available on the linked page).
The first newspaper for women, the Lily was published in Seneca Falls, New York from 1849 until 1853. The Lily originated as a temperance journal for the Seneca Falls Ladies Temperance Society and was edited by Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894).
This collection covers much of 1840-1920 and includes newspapers that had some overlap between the temperance and women’s rights movements, as well as an anti-suffrage paper. In addition to The Lily, articles from the following periodicals have been added: National citizen and ballot box, National standard, The new citizen (votes for women), The remonstrance, The revolution, and The western woman voter. Also included is “The 19th amendment victory” which comprises a newspaper history from 1762-1922 and books published between 1812 through 1823.
Based in Beatrice, Nebraska, The Woman's Tribune was the second-longest running woman suffrage newspaper in the United States. Clara Bewick Colby served as its editor over the twenty-six year run (1883 – 1909). The paper provided a unique mid-Western perspective on the women’s rights movement in the 19th century,
An important resource for studying the lives and roles of women, and the struggle for women's rights, women's suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, and more. Some of the titles in this collection were published by men, for women; others by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women.
Provides 74 document projects. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Includes more than 2,200 documents, approx. 800 images, & almost 800 links to other websites. Also includes a dictionary of social movements and organizations; a chronology of U.S. women's history; and teaching tools.
Includes documents such as charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations. Also includes interpretative essays from leading scholars.
The First World War had a revolutionary and permanent impact on the personal, social and professional lives of all women. Their essential contribution to the war in Europe is fully documented in this definitive collection of primary source materials brought together in the Imperial War Museum, London. These unique documents - charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations - are published here for the first time in fully-searchable form, along with interpretative essays from leading scholars. Together these documents form an indispensable resource for the study of 20th-Century social, political, military and gender history.URL: http://go.galegroup.com/gdsc/i.do?id=6ACP&v=2.1&u=vol_m58c&it=aboutCollections&p=GDSC&sw=w
This collection follows the growth of the women’s rights movement in America from the campaign for women’s suffrage to the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment and beyond. The archive includes the National Woman’s Party Papers (1913-1971), League of Women Voters collection (1918-1974), and documents about the Women’s Action Alliance (1971-1996).
The collection consists of a variety of materials including newspapers, books, pamphlets, memorials, scrapbooks, and proceedings from the meetings of various women's organizations that document the suffrage fight.
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
Includes 448 digitized photographs selected from print photographs in the Records of the National Woman's Party, a collection housed in the Library of Congress.
"The papers of suffragist, reformer, and feminist theorist Elizabeth Cady Stanton (1815-1902) cover the years 1814 to 1946, with most of the material concentrated between 1840 and 1902." From the U.S. Library of Congress. Includes finding aid to the whole collection and select digitized documents.
Fannie Lou Hamer was a voting rights activist and civil rights leader. She was instrumental in organizing Mississippi Freedom Summer for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and later became the Vice-Chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, attending the 1964 Democratic National Convention in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in that capacity. Her plain-spoken manner and fervent belief in the Biblical righteousness of her cause gained her a reputation as an electrifying speaker and constant activist of civil rights.
From the Digital Public Library of America. Covers 1850's - 1860. "The materials in this collection include photographs, correspondence, speeches, event programs, publications, oral histories, and other artifacts."
From the Library of Congress. A number of manuscript collections are available for users to transcribe. Many of these crowd-sourced transcriptions are already available to use. Or try your hand at transcribing documents yourself!
"Documents the persistence and diversity of organizing for women in the United States in the latter half of the 20th century. Narrators include labor, peace, and anti-racism activists; artists and writers; lesbian rights advocates; grassroots anti-violence and anti-poverty organizers; and women of color reproductive justice leaders."
On JSTOR. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.
