Film & Media - History - United States - Guides at Middlebury College

Film and Newsreels

Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
For collections we have access to (PBS, California Newsreal, and select individual titles) films can be watched by any authorized user (student, faculty, staff member) anywhere, anytime. All films include public performance rights. See go/request/ if we don't have a title you'd like access to.

AP Archive on YouTube
Associated Press collection "offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895."

Primary Source Collection:

Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 This link opens in a new window
Five hundred titles were selected from the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection. It documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry.

American Memory (Library of Congress)
Online access to some of the foremost historical treasures of the Library of Congress and other major research archives. Includes books, spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music. Includes more than 9 million items that document U. S. history and culture. Maps can either be viewed on the website or downloaded. It provides full bibliographic information about each map.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
"The Library of Congress and GBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years (about page). It "features almost 40,000 hours of audio and video recordings produced by noncommercial broadcasting stations across the United States from the late 1940s to the 2010s,” --ccAdvisor.
Video, Image, and Sound Effects Research Guide
Library guide to video, audio, and image resources available at Midd.
Google Arts & Culture
Explore image collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute. Collections include historical events and historical figures.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Library repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images, artwork, and related data. See their American Studies guide. Note: images are copyrighted and cannot be posted on unrestricted websites.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Over 80,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.