Guides: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer+ Studies: Home

Welcome!

This website will help you find the best library databases, search tools, and reference sources for LGBTQ+ Studies. Not sure about LGBTQ+ terminology? See Comprehensive* List of LGBTQ+ Vocabulary Definitions (external site) and Pronouns Matter (external site).

Not Sure Where to Start?

LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The archives of 26 leading but previously hard-to-find magazines. The complete backfile of The Advocate is made available digitally. The oldest surviving continuously published US title of its type (having launched in 1967), it is the periodical of record for information about the LGBT community; it has charted the key developments in LGBT history and culture for over 50 years. As one of the very few LGBT titles to pre-date the 1969 Stonewall riots, it spans the history of the gay rights movement. LGBT Magazine Archive also includes the principal UK titles, notably Gay News and its successor publication Gay Times.

Gender Studies Collection
"Periodical collection supporting significant aspects of gender in culture and society."
LibrarySearch
Middlebury Library's search engine. It searches everything we own or have access to, including books, articles, films, reference materials, primary sources and more. (go/LibrarySearch/)

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search across journals, newspapers, and magazines content from multiple ProQuest databases.

Featured titles

Visibility Interrupted: Rural Queer Life and the Politics of Unbecoming

By Carly Thomsen (Midd faculty)

Print and e-book

Beautiful on the Inside

Audiobook read by the author. Olympic medalist Adam Rippon has been making it pretty for the judges even when, just below the surface, everything was an absolute mess.

Call Me By Your Name

Audiobook and DVD. The story of a sudden and powerful romance that blossoms between an adolescent boy and a summer guest at his parents' cliffside mansion on the Italian Riviera.