Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Language Schools Library Guide

An introduction to library collections and services for Middlebury Language Schools students, faculty, and staff.

Subject Specialist

Profile Photo
Carrie M. Macfarlane
she/her
Contact:
My office is Davis Family Library 209, but the quickest way to reach me is by email or appointment.

Contact a Librarian

Profile Photo
Research Librarians
Contact:
researchdesk@middlebury.edu
Research Desk, Davis Family Library
802.443.5496

Welcome!

This guide provides an overview of the library's foreign language resources for people associated with the Language Schools. 

Many of the resources in this guide are available via a subscription. Use your Middlebury credentials (the username and password you use for your Middlebury email account) when prompted. 

Orientation, Training, and Tours

Library Orientation Sessions

  • You can attend a library orientation session online via Zoom at the beginning of the summer. These sessions introduce students, faculty and staff to library materials in foreign languages within and beyond our library collections. 
  • When summer 2023 sessions are scheduled, we'll provide dates, times, and registration forms at Library Orientation and Training Sessions for the Language Schools.

Library Orientation Video Recordings

  • Library orientation video recordings cover the same content as live orientation sessions, but you can pause and rewatch them. We've divided our hour-long session into four segments:  1) Library basics and library spaces, 2) Using LibrarySearch, 3) Interlibrary Loan and the research guides, and 4) Newspapers, magazines, and video. Each segment is bookmarked for quick access to the content you need.
  • When recordings of summer 2023 sessions are available, we'll provide a link to them here.

Self-Guided Library Tours

  • Self-guided tour brochures are available at the Research Desk whenever the Davis Family Library is open (find hours here). They highlight library spaces including language browsing collections, group study rooms, and places where you can get help.
  • Visit the Research Desk on a weekday afternoon to meet a librarian! Find hours and contact information at Ask Us.

Zotero Citation Management Software Training

  • Zotero citation management software training sessions are held in person (with an online-only  option) at the beginning of the summer term. They teach students, faculty and staff how to use Zotero to create notes and bibliographies. For a self-guided introduction to Zotero, visit Zotero for Citation Management.
  • When summer 2023 sessions are scheduled, we'll provide dates, times, and registration forms at Library Orientation and Training Sessions for the Language Schools.

Special Collections Open Houses and Class Visits

  • Special Collections open houses and class visits can be held in person upon request. They offer an introduction to rare books and archives.
  • Request a Special Collections open house or class visit by contacting specialcollections@middlebury.edu.

Not Sure Where to Start?

FAQs

To access our database of 100+ frequently asked questions (FAQs), visit go.middlebury.edu/askus. Find a sample of our FAQs below.

Ask a Middlebury Librarian