Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Language Schools Library Guide

An introduction to library collections and services for Middlebury Language Schools students, faculty, and staff.

Language Schools Library Guide for Faculty

Find Middlebury Library policies and procedures specific to Language School faculty needs.

Purchase Requests

Books, Films and More

  • We encourage you to submit purchase requests for the library collection.
  • Please place requests no later May 15. We'll do our best to purchase and process materials requested after May 15, but some of these requests may not be ready in time for the summer term.
  • To make the materials you request available for a loan period that is shorter than the usual student loan period of 28 days, ask to have the materials put on reserve. Learn more at Reserves.
  • Visit Request a Library Purchase for advice and a link to a request form.

Streaming Video

  • If you'd like to request streaming video, first search MIDCAT, the library catalog.  (We may have a streaming version already.)
  • If you don’t find a streaming version in MIDCAT, visit Request a Library Purchase for a link to a request form.
  • Visit Streaming FAQ for more advice, including how to renew access to a film you've streamed in the past.

Loan Periods for Borrowing

Books and DVDs

  • Most items that you check out will be due at the end of the summer.  
  • DVDs have a loan period of 2 weeks
  • Books in the Browsing collection have a loan period of no more than 28 days.

Equipment

  • Laptops:  These are available at the Circulation Desk at the Davis Family Library and may be borrowed by faculty or staff for the summer term.
  • Media equipment (for example, cameras, tripods, camcorders, projectors, microphones)
    • From the library:  Most items that you check out will be due in 3 days. The loan period can be adjusted slightly as needed.
    • From Media Services (ITS):  Media Services may have media equipment that can be borrowed for the entire summer. Ask helpdesk@middlebury.edu.

Interlibrary Loan

  • Most items that you check out will be due at the end of the summer.  
  • Visit Interlibrary Loan for advice and a link to a request form.

Orientation, Training, and Tours

Library Orientation Sessions

  • Library orientation sessions are held online via Zoom at the beginning of the summer. They introduce students, faculty and staff to library materials in foreign languages within and beyond our library collections. 
  • Find dates, times, and links to registration forms at Library Orientation and Training Sessions for the Language Schools.

Self-Guided Library Tours

  • Self-guided tour brochures are available at the Research Desk whenever the Davis Family Library is open (find hours here). They highlight library spaces including language browsing collections, group study rooms, and places where you can get help.
  • Visit the Research Desk on a weekday afternoon to meet a librarian! Find hours and contact information at Ask Us.

Zotero Citation Management Software Training

Special Collections Open Houses and Class Visits

  • Special Collections open houses and class visits can be held in person upon request. They offer an introduction to rare books and archives.
  • Request a Special Collections open house or class visit by contacting specialcollections@middlebury.edu.

Deselection Project

You may recall that before the pandemic, the library had begun a project to review its circulating collections in order to remove outdated print books and books no longer needed for the curriculum and research. The work slowed considerably when COVID struck, and library staff are now resuming the pace. There’s a lot more information in the original announcement describing the project, and on the site for the project itself

We invite faculty feedback on our deselection decisions. If you’d like to be notified when title lists in your areas of interest are ready for review, please request that here.

For Faculty at Bennington

Faculty in the Middlebury Language Schools at Bennington should also consult this guide: