Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Language Schools Library Guide

An introduction to library collections and services for Middlebury Language Schools students, faculty, and staff.

Searching for Books

Finding Books in the Library

Books in Your Language

If you're studying on campus, visit the Browsing Collection on the main level of the Davis Family Library. The Browsing Collection includes popular fiction, graphic novels and other engaging materials for language learners. There's a collection for every language school!

To identify additional books in the language that you're studying, use the language filters in LibrarySearch or MIDCAT. Some foreign language books are shelved in their own collections (Arabic, Chinese, Japanese) on the lower level of Davis Family Library, while others are shelved alongside English-language books throughout the building

Sometimes, finding books in other languages is challenging. Please don't hesitate to ask a librarian for assistance!

E-books & Audiobooks

Our e-books are listed in LibrarySearch and MIDCAT. Many of our larger collections can be searched separately, too. For more information, including how to access e-books through EBSCO, JSTOR, OverDrive, Proquest, SpringerLink, and how to find free e-books, see our e-book guide at go.middlebury.edu/ebookguide. Read more about necessary software below.

Dictionaries

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan FAQS

Here are some frequently asked questions (FAQs) about interlibrary loan. For our complete database of 100+ FAQs, see go.middlebury.edu/askus.

Asking the Library to Purchase Books and Other Materials