Chemistry

Middlebury Libraries maintains Data @ Middlebury, a repository utilizing figshare to archive, preserve, and provide access to research products created by Middlebury faculty, staff, and students.

The Bazaar is an open and collaborative crowd-sourced environment for faculty, staff, and students to share and learn in the areas of scientific computing, coding, and data.

MiddData provides equitable and inclusive access to powerful tools for data and digital analysis from the moment students arrive on campus.

Middlebury subscribes to LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda) video tutorials. Explore this list of Data Analyst tutorials (Excel, SPSS, R, etc.) plus hundreds of others topics. Login with your Middlebury email and setup an account.

The Cambridge Structural Database contains data on small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures.

The National Atmospheric Chemistry Database (NAtChem) is a data archival and analysis facility operated by the Science and Technology Branch of Environment Canada.

A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

The National Institute of Standards and Technology Chemistry WebBook contains thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data for primarily organic compounds.

The DAAC provides data and information relevant to biogeochemical dynamics, ecological data, and environmental processes, critical for understanding the dynamics relating to the biological, geological, and chemical components of Earth's environment

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.

SpectraBase provides access to NMR, IR, Raman, UV-Vis, and Mass Spectra data for chemical compounds.

Aggregator of open access repositories across multiple disciplines.

Dryad provides access to the datasets associated with published research articles. You can search for the title of an article to see if their data is published in Dryad, or you can search for a specific topic or keyword to see which datasets are available in this area.

Figshare is a repository containing a wide variety of research outputs, including datasets. After you search, you can limit your results to just datasets by checking the box next to "datasets" in the Item Type section on the left side of the screen.

The General Social Survey (GSS) is a nationally representative survey of adults in the United States conducted since 1972. Data from this survey is openly available online.

Harvard Dataverse contains datasets on a wide variety of topics, including biology and health sciences.

Mendeley Data provides access to over 26 million open access datasets. It searches several data repositories at once, including Dryad and ICPSR.

Open Science Framework (OSF) is a platform where research can choose to make specific aspects of the research, including datasets, available to the public. Not all OSF projects have datasets attached to them, so it may take some trial and error to find what you need. Search for your topic, click on a project, and then check the files section to see what datasets are available for download.

The Registry of Research Data Repositories contains a list of data repositories, rather than the datasets themselves. It is a great place to look if you are not sure where to search for the dataset you need.

The DMP tool is free online tool created by the University of California that will help you to create a data management plan in accordance with specific grant funding organizations' guidelines.

DataOne has a wide variety of training modules on best practices in data management. This is also a service, so they are likely to upsell their product.

A free, open source tool for working with messy data: cleaning it; transforming it from one format into another; and extending it with web services and external data.

Tabula is a free tool that can take data tables from PDF files and convert them into Excel format.