Guides: Chemistry: Articles

Major Chemistry Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences. It is very useful for forward and backward citation searching. Look for the "Full Text Options" to check to see if access through the library is possible or to place a request for the article through ILL.
-Contains more than 47 million records, 70% with abstracts, more than 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. 70% of content is pulled from international sources. Includes MEDLINE.
-Records since 1996 include searchable cited references.
-Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off campus).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million selected citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. View "MeSH" terms given to articles to improve your searching. Citations may include links to full-text content, or a "Middlebury Link" to check to see if access through the library is possible.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n searches Chemical Abstracts and is a comprehensive index to pure and applied chemistry literature. You can also search by drawing chemical substances. It is accessible to Middlebury users but you must first create an account using your Middlebury email address.
Click here to create an account.
SciFinder Support Guides

General Science Databases

LibrarySearch
Middlebury Library's search engine. It searches nearly everything we own or have access to, including books, articles, films, reference materials, primary sources and more. (go/LibrarySearch/)

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Full text is available, but not in a formatted pdf.

Google Scholar
Finds scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Remember to add Middlebury to Library Links, under Google Scholar settings, to check if you have access to an article from your Middlebury login.

JSTOR All Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Generally more historic in science content, utilize the advanced search and add journal filters to search content specific to subjects relevant to your search.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Journal, newspaper, and magazine articles on topics from all major subject areas. Click "Change databases" to add or subtract relevant content.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. It features abstracts for more than 720 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals, and extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources.

Recommended Journals

Browse these journals to get a sense of topics of current interest.

Are you doing research for a paper? If so then you probably don't want to limit yourself to just one journal! Instead, search for your keywords in one of the indexes and databases above.

Journals by Title
Use the journal finder to see if the library has a subscription to a specific periodical. Search by title. If the library does not have a journal you are interested in you can request specific articles via interlibrary loan.

ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of journals published by Elsevier. The Middlebury College Libraries has access to many of the journals.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
1879-Current. Using the American Chemical Society's Website you can search their publications and get full text access. Search features include: Citation Finder, DOI Locator, Advanced Journal Search, Multiple Journal Search, Search by Subject Area Groupings or Search by timeframe including Archives.

Chemistry Methods
New journal from Chemistry Europe focused on processes in chemistry, including chemical methods and instrument development.
Nature Chemistry
A monthly journal from Nature focused on the most significant and cutting-edge research in all areas of chemistry. 1 year delay on full text access.

Ask a Middlebury Librarian

Chat live with a librarian

Meet

Text us at 802.546.0054